Bleizgeist

Bleizgeist

From Dark Fantasy and Gothic Fiction author Hazel Butler...
Ingary is a harsh land. Cursed by a perpetual winter, the isolated little town has all but forget why they worship the wolf.

Marked by magic she cannot control, Marishka is an outcast. Alone and starving she is plagued by geiste, the unconscious minds of the people of Ingary, roaming the wilderness as they sleep. Attracted to the gramarye in Marishka’s blood, the geiste give her no rest. Losing herself to madness, she is saved when she chances to fall in love. But when her affair is discovered, all hope is taken from her.

Beaten and lovelorn, she resigns herself to death.

And then the wolf walks through her door, and Marishka recalls the meaning of Bleizgeist—the spirit of the wolf.

The Perfect Read for Fans of Dark Fantasy and Gothic Fiction

Filled with atmosphere and chills - a book of beautiful prose and sweeping scope that will have you reading well into the night and beyond.
Joel CornahSci-Fi & Fantasy Network
Bleizgeist is wonderfully evocative and beautifully written, the kind of story that sticks with a person. I can't wait to read it again.
Kay KaufmanAuthor, A World of their Own
A good novella has to be complete in itself but also make you want to read more, and Bleizgeist succeeds at both. It's a beautifully written tale that intertwines darkness and love to devastating effect, concealing and revealing its secrets with a skilful hand. Vivid sensory details bring the whole to life – you can almost taste the cold forest air and hear the cry of the wolves – but it's the emotion at the heart of this magical story that continues to resonate long after you reach the final page.
A.F.E. SmithAuthor, Darkhaven (Harper Voyager)
Bleizgeist is the dark, haunting tale of Marishka’s search for acceptance in a harsh world that reveres and yet shuns her. Butler's masterful storytelling is merciless. I cried for Marishka more than once. Bleizgeist is an homage to the dark fairytales of old, with a bold and modern approach that makes it very special.
Sammy H.K. SmithPublisher, Grimbold Books

PAPERBACK


KINDLE

£
4.99
£
0.99

FREE UK SHIPPING


DIRECT TO YOUR KINDLE


BUY NOW


BUY NOW

What The Readers Are Saying

Steve HarperAmazon Reviewer
In the town of Ingary, wild magic still lives on in the blood of a few, but while the memory of the ancient ties with nature are still venerated, anyone who displays such talents is shunned and feared by the rest of the people. Marishka is such a woman, living on the fringes of the town, bereaved by the death of her parents and now abandoned by her lover. The geiste - spirits of the sleeping townsfolk - torment her each night. Until a great wolf comes to her cottage and drives away the geiste for a little while. With the wolf's companionship, she begins to find a path for herself, sharing her time between the town and the wild. And slowly, she discovers the truth about herself, her magic, and the reasons behind her lover's departure. And through it all, the wolf spirit (the Bleizgeist of the title) slowly reveals itself. This is a wonderful world, and the little of it that is revealed in this story only makes me want to know more. Marishka's sorrows and triumphs, her loves and losses, are told with such poignant dignity that I hoped with each page to see her overcome the adversities of the weeather and the townspeaople's prejudices, and for her to go racing across the snowclad landscape in her sled, mistress of her pack. At the end... Well, I shan't spoil it - read it for yourself! I hope that Hazel returns to the world of Ingary again in the future, I feel that there are many more tales to be told in this world, and many more places to explore.
Ash YoungAmazon Reviewer
I bought this book on a whim, not expecting much since it was only one review. Now this book will grip you and drag you through the snow with poor protagonist yet the turns are unexpected and it twists on you as soon you think you know what's what and that's where the book excels.
Mandy WardAmazon Reviewer
I really enjoyed reading this. It's so well written that I fell into it and didn't climb back out until I'd finished. The story is a realistic one - loss, love and betrayal in a world full of sheep and wolves. The twist is perfectly wound into the rest of the story - you don't see it coming at all. It's only short coming is that it's too short! I want to see more of Marishka and her pack...
Kay KauffmanAmazon Reviewer
This book is a fantastic one. Literally. :) The people here are as harsh as the landscape, but they're not without their warmth, and in a land of perpetual winter, warmth is important. Heck, even in a world not cursed with perpetual winter, warmth is important. The warmth Marishka finds is not exactly conventional, which makes her story all the more intriguing. How do you survive as an outcast in a place as harsh as Ingary? Beyond that, how do you thrive? Read this book and find out. Seriously, read it - if I keep talking, there will be spoilers. :) Bleizgeist is wonderfully evocative and beautifully written, the kind of story that sticks with a person. I can't wait to read it again
Janice DayAmazon Reviewer
I loved this story. Well written, with strong female characters and brilliant twists. I couldn't put it down and look forward to reading more. I am happy to give it 5* it's a great story.